Peach Leaf Ice Cream – Dairy-Free, No Raw Eggs

Peach leaf ice cream – an unusual ice cream flavor: It taste of bitter almonds and marzipan. This peach leaf ice cream is dairy-free and made without raw eggs!

Peach Leaf Ice Cream - Dairy-Free, No Raw Eggs

As soon as I read that peach leaves lend a subtle bitter almond flavor to ice cream, I was intrigued! I could hardly wait for summer to try out the peach leaf ice cream with fresh peach leaves from grandma’s garden!

Peach leaves contain cyanide – or rather amygdalin which turns into cyanide in the body. So peach leaves shouldn’t be eaten raw but they’re safe to eat after cooking or baking. The peach leaf ice cream mixture is cooked after steeping the leaves in milk so you don’t get cyanide poisoning! More about peach leaves here.

Because I can’t eat dairy I adapted a recipe to make it dairy-free. And the ice cream is also made without raw eggs!

Peach Leaf Ice Cream
Peach leaf ice cream melting in the summer sun



Peach Leaf Ice Cream


  • 10 fresh, organic peach leaves
  • 2 cups soy milk
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 3 tbsp sugar


Peach Leaf Ice Cream



In a saucepan bring the soy milk to a boil. Remove from heat and add the peach leaves. Let the peach leaves steep for 5- 10 minutes in the milk. You can immediately smell the overpowering bitter almond scent!

Remove the leaves (don’t oversteep or the ice cream becomes bitter). Now stir in the egg yolks and sugar and, while constantly stirring, cook the custard until it thickens slightly . Let the peach leaf ice cream mixture cool. Then freeze in an ice cream maker or place it in a freezer for a few hours.


Peach Leaf Ice Cream


More Dairy-Free Ice Cream Recipes

Peach Leaf Ice Cream

15 thoughts on “Peach Leaf Ice Cream – Dairy-Free, No Raw Eggs

  1. What a fascinating recipe. I did not know you could use peach leaves as flavouring, although I appreciate they have to be cooked first. I’ll be featuring this post at Hearth and Soul link party this week, Lina. Thank you so much for sharing it. Hope to ‘see’ you there!

  2. That looks incredible, especially the fact that people do eat (cooked) peach leaves! Would this also be true of apple or plum leaves? And would they impart a flavor? Oh, and can one substitute in coconut milk for friends allergic to soy?

    1. Thank you! I don’t know if apple or plum leaves are edible – I have only found recipes with peach leaves. And of course you can use another plant based milk. Let me know how it tastes!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *